English music for vespers

emma

Hi Everyone,
I am relatively new to chanting and I don't speak any Greek, so I am hoping for some help with the "puzzle" of figuring out where to access English music in byzantine notation. I have printed out all the music for vespers from St Anthony's byzantine music project, but it is missing content. Does anyone know where I can access this music (photo below). I also use the eMatins/ AGES DCS app for English music but would prefer to develop a library for the Church rather than printing music needed for each service. If anyone has any advice for me or resources you can share I would greatly appreciate it.

IMG20200502155743.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Maria Juliane

Hi Emma,
Congratulations on taking up Byzantine chant! :) It's great you've found St Anthony's and Ages. I'm going to refer you to two sources it took me much too long to find for myself (It took me years before I learned that finding music generally comes under Liturgics, rather than Chanting, for a start!) Here's a webpage that gives advice about building a liturgical library http://www.saintjonah.org/services/library.htm. I've found Hieromonk Herman really helpful. Although he's coming from the Russian tradition (it's not very different but enough to be confusing to a beginner at the chant stand), he does discuss books based on the Greek tradition. He does an excellent course on Liturgics on Youtube. The first lesson looks at books and a calendar of the seasons of the Church Year:
and the fourth lesson looks at Vespers:
My only concern is that you might find it a bit daunting at this stage because there's a lot to it... but σιγα σιγα (siga, siga = little by little - there, you've learned some really useful Greek!). May God and the angels bless all your endeavours
ICXCNIKA
Maria Juliane

emma

Hi Maria,