Learning Prosomia and Heirmos

GabrielCremeens

Music Director at St. George, Albuquerque, NM
Hello all,

Ευλογείτε!

Just a quick question (actually two) that I've been considering lately. As I think I understand it, an important part of being a chanter is learning prosomia. Holy Transfiguration Monastery has their well-known Prosomia Book, which I may purchase soon, along with the CD, to begin learning. Since I am completely new at chanting, is learning the prosomia a good way to start learning the modes and Byzantine music in general, or is it better to try another approach? (I'm also going to begin using the Margaziotis book to learn Byzantine notation.) (On a related note, does HTM's Prosomia Book contain all prosomia, or simply heavily-used ones?)

My other question regards the heirmos (pl: heirmosi?) for Kanons. Is there a resource, comparable to HTM's Prosomia Book for learning the heirmosi (please correct me if I'm getting the plural incorrect here)? I thought that perhaps I saw something like this among Fr. Seraphim Dede's works available for purchase, but I have never bought anything of his yet, so I don't know for certain.

Thanks!

basil

Παλαιό Μέλος
Although HTM's Byzantine Prosomia book is available for free online, I prefer the Original Melodies book by Fr Seraphim Dedes. The melodies in the HTM publication are mostly modern variants and are inferior to the standard, classical melodies found in Fr Seraphim's publication. Another advantage of Fr Seraphim's publication is that it is available in both Western and Byzantine notation. In general, the musical publications by HTM cannot be trusted to employ good primary sources and methodology (in contrast to their translations).